

ENRLS Annual Meeting Minutes – Friday, August 6, 2021 – 1:15 pm Four Seasons Hotel, 98 San Jacinto Boulevard, Austin, Texas 78701

I. Welcome & Section Updates – David Klein.

David Klein opened the meeting at 1:17 pm by recapping ENRLS accomplishments over the past year. Klein announced that Kristen Fancher, Lisa Dyar, and Aaron Vargas are rolling off the ENRLS Executive Committee, and he thanked them for their service to the Council and the Section.

Klein also announced the two new ENRLS committees – the Diversity, Engagement, & Inclusion Committee and the Social Media Committee. Klein introduced Nathan Block, who briefly announced the Section's plans for a climate change symposium in April 2022.

II. Internship & Scholarship Recipients – David Klein & Kimberly Kelley.

Klein recognized the Buck J. Wynne Memorial Scholarship and Professor Corwin W. Johnson Memorial Internship recipients.

Buck J. Wynne Memorial Scholarship recipients:

- Jessica Francis (Baylor Law School);
- Jaycee Lee (Baylor Law School);
- Haley Varnadoe (Texas A&M School of Law);
- Ashley Wilde (Texas Tech University School of Law);
- Blue McCreary (Thurgood Marshall School of Law);
- Carline Spiers (University of Houston Law Center); and
- Nick Ashipa (University of Houston Law Center).

Professor Corwin W. Johnson Memorial Internship recipients:

- Ashley Lewis (Harris County District Attorney's Office Environmental Crimes Division);
- Sydney Carroll (Office of the Attorney General of Texas);
- Julia Cantu (Railroad Commission of Texas);
- Bridgett Meyer (Texas Parks and Wildlife Department);
- Alyssa Valentine (Texas Commission on Environmental Quality);
- Viola Mercer (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 6); and
- Colin Davis (Office of the Attorney General of Texas).

Kelley introduced the ENRLS summer interns that were in attendance: Bridgett Meyer, Alyssa Valentine, Viola Mercer, and Colin Davis.



<u>ENRLS Annual Meeting Minutes – Friday, August 6, 2021 – 1:15 pm</u> Four Seasons Hotel, 98 San Jacinto Boulevard, Austin, Texas 78701

III. ENRLS Council Nominations – David Klein.

Klein introduced and announced the Nominating Committee members, the proposed ENRLS Council Officer slate for the 2021-2022 term, and the proposed ENRLS Executive Committee Members for the 2021-2024 term.

Nominating Committee members:

- David Klein (ENRLS Chair);
- Susan Maxwell (ENRLS Immediate Past Chair);
- Amber Ahmed (ENRLS Executive Committee member);
- Booker Harrison (ENRLS member);
- Maris Chambers (ENRLS member); and
- Daniela Landers (ENRLS member).

Proposed ENRLS Council Officer slate for 2021-2022:

- *Chair* Nathan Block, BP (Houston);
- Chair-Elect Pete Wahl, Jackson Walker LLP (Dallas);
- Vice Chair Erin Chancellor, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (Austin);
- Treasurer (year 2 of 2-year term) Mike Dillinger, NuStar Energy L.P. (San Antonio);
- Secretary (year 1 of 2-year term) Lisa Dyar, McGinnis Lochridge (Austin); and
- *Immediate Past Chair* David Klein, Lloyd Gosselink Rochelle & Townsend, P.C. (Austin).

Proposed ENRLS Executive Committee Members for the 2021-2024 term:

- Marcella Burke, King & Spalding LLP (Houston);
- Anne Idsal Austin, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP (Austin); and
- James McGuire, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 6 (Dallas).

Tony Cavender moved to approve the proposed ENRLS Council slate for 2021-2022 and the proposed Executive Committee members for the 2021-2024 term. Jimmy Alan Hall seconded the motion. The Council officers and Executive Committee member slates were unanimously approved by the Section.

IV. Adjourn – David Klein.

The ENRLS Annual Meeting adjourned at 1:32 pm.

